

SUMMARY MINUTES

Middle Rogue Metropolitan Planning Organization Technical Advisory Committee (TAC)

November 20, 2013

The following people were in attendance:

MRMPO Technical Advisory Committee

Voting Members in Attendance:

Chuck DeJanvier Josephine County

Ian Horlacher ODOT John Krawczyk Rogue River

John Vial Jackson County

Josh LeBombard DLCD
Kelli Sparkman ODOT
Michael Black Grants Pass
Rick Hohnbaum Gold Hill

Scott Chancey Josephine County Transit

Dave Reeves for Terry Haugen Grants Pass

Voting Members Absent:

Wayne Kauzlarich ODEQ

Others Present:

None

RVCOG Staff

Andrea Napoli, Sue Casavan

1. Call to Order / Introductions / Review Agenda

Michael Black called the meeting to order at 9:35 a.m.

2. Review / Approve Minutes

Black asked if there were any changes or additions to the October meeting minutes.

On a motion by Ian Horlacher and seconded by Scott Chancey the committee unanimously approved the minutes as presented.

3. Middle Rogue MPO Member Jurisdiction Dues Proposal

Andrea Napoli presented the MPO dues proposal with an RVMPO comparison. It was determined that the factor of .16 times the population of the jurisdiction would provide sufficient dues to support committee participation. Members asked when dues would need to be collected and Napoli said she would find out. Amount of individual proposed dues were discussed and members asked if the transit operator would also be responsible for dues. Ian Horlacher briefly discussed transit and members asked staff to find out why transit did not pay dues.

On a motion by Rick Hohnbaum and seconded by Scott Chancey the committee unanimously forwarded recommendation to approve MRMPO dues methodology.

4. Rogue Valley ACT Protocols

Napoli informed members that the MRMPO work program calls for protocols for coordination with the Area Commission on Transportation to make recommendations to the Oregon Transportation Commission (OTC) for State Transportation Improvement Program (STIP) project prioritization. The resolution will provide a process if there is disagreement in funding priorities. Black asked if Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) member could be added to Resolution 2013-3 number 4) and state 'Policy Committee and/or Technical Advisory Committee member'. TAC members agreed.

On a motion by John Vial and seconded by Ian Horlacher the committee forwarded recommendation to the Policy Committee to adopt the protocols with the addition of 'Policy Committee and/or Technical Advisory Committee member'.

5. MRMPO / ODOT Transit Provider Coordination Agreement

Napoli briefly explained that the agreement defined roles between ODOT, Josephine County Transit, and the MPO. Horlacher added that it was a suggestion for implementation and John Vial pointed out the chart on Page 14 and felt it was very helpful in explaining the different roles. Chancey felt it was a good idea to outline the role of transit in the area. Black asked about sports complexes and regional significant projects and what the threshold was. He noted that the agreement discusses how everyone is involved in financial planning of projects and asked for more information. Horlacher replied that will happen when a project is adopted in the Regional Transportation Plan (RTP) and is financially constrained. John Vial reminded members that a regional significant project needed to be a transportation project that serves an area.

On a motion by Scott Chancey and seconded by Ian Horlacher the committee unanimously forwarded recommendation to the Policy Committee to approve the coordination agreement.

6. MRMPO Planning Update

Napoli reported that there were interviews for Program Planning Manager in Grants Pass and Central Point on Monday. The decision now lies with the executive director. The conclusion of the panel was whatever would be the best fit for staff.

7. Public Comment

None received.

8. Other Business / Local Business

Members asked if there will be a December meeting. Staff will consult with Dan and members recommended that the meeting will be at the discretion of the TAC chair.

9. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 10:00 a.m.